NaNoNoNo

14 days of whateverthefuckthatwas and I’m mostly better. Still coughing a bit, still got way too much slime coming out of me, but the worst is over. Whatever the hell that was, please go your way and never darken my door again.

Two weeks of mind dulling coughing and cold/flu has made me put up my NaNo fingers and admit an early defeat. I am more in mind of a tactical retreat as I am back to writing and if I feel like it can even add it to my NaNo total. However, There are changes.

NaNo was supposed to be a kick in the ribs for my erotica challenge. However, that’s largely come to a premature end. My challenge partner had most of his titles removed by Amazon. This got us talking about the reasons why. Seems his erotica was rather more niche than I was lead to believe. not only that but he showed me some of the empirical evidence of what people were buying from his older, now unavailable, titles. Ordinary erotica actually fared very badly. What did sell? Well, the search terms that brought most people to his website and out again to Amazon were ‘barely legal’, ‘forced’, inter-racial’, ‘breeder’ and some terms I don’t even want on this page. Given the hits that ordinary erotica was getting and how much is out there, I was surprised my vanilla stories had any sales at all.

Sales all but fizzled in October anyway. With the rest of life’s demands, I was behind in my output. Was supposed to be five titles by October, and twelve by January. I still have just three. (working on four after posting this) Still, I thought people might still stumble across them. Another problem with Amazon, you don’t get to see who lands on your page or looks at your titles. Pity. The bottom line though, not one sale so far in November.

Knowing I was ill and not going to be putting anything out I also put in another small experiment. I dropped the prices of all of them to 99 cents. Two weeks at that price and still nothing. I hadn’t made any announcement about it. I wanted to see if just having cheap erotica for sale would be enough to sell. It was not. They will stay at that price. The challenge is over and they were only 2.99 as part of that. 2.99 is too expensive for a 7000 word short story. But dropping into Amazon’s 35% royalty payment level sucks.

As much as I enjoy writing, I have other things that require my attention. I’m here to stay of course, but the erotica will be no more than one a month. If that. Other projects beckon. And as a paying job, writing erotica isn’t something I would recommend. My day job, that’s a different matter 🙂

3 thoughts on “NaNoNoNo

  1. It’s too bad you got sick- erotica and other writing aside, it sounds awful. I’m glad you’re feeling better though, and hope the recovery continues quickly.

  2. A head filled with nothing but slime and pain sin’t good for writing with. At best all my ideas were directed towards, well, slime and pain. Maybe i should have just gone with it, but I really needed to just rest and get this out of me.

  3. Pingback: Dancer | Hipster Intelligence Agency

Satisfy my urges

