How to be socially anti-social

Yesterday evening I started a Pinterest account. After adding a couple of ‘pins’ to my newly created boards, I feel about as much love towards the service as I do with my Facebook account.

To be fair, my Facebook started with a huge impediment; I started again with zero friends. Writing under a pen name, it would be a dead giveaway if I was inviting all my friends to join it. Same can be said with reference to my Facebook Page for Rebekkah Mee. Yes, I am my own brand, yada yada. But more to the point, I am my own brand with 2 likes, one of whom was me (by accident).
Perhaps my view of the importance of Facebook will improve as the ‘friends’ and ‘likes’ build up.

Twitter too is strange. Coming to it cold with no actual friends to connect with, you are limited in what you can do to gain any kind of ‘following’. I started by simply ‘adding’ a few hundred followers and writing and retweeting ‘interesting’ things that other people said. If indeed they said them either. Most of the account I found to follow had thousands of followers already. Who can keep up with that many people all ‘tweeting’ at you? The simple answer is that you don’t.

I had to step back and ask myself, what is it I even want from Twitter? What do I want from any social platform?

I want exposure. I want to connect with people. I am writing to sell stories, not just to make people cock an eyebrow at me. The Tumblr and WordPress platforms are more interesting. The tag system allows people to find and follow you easily. Until you are labeled as NSFW, and then you are pretty much hidden from the world. Thanks guys.

WordPress I write more about what I am doing. I ‘like’ other peoples’ writings, and sometimes follow accounts that interest me. The reader allows me to catch up on the blogging activity whenever I like, and sometimes I even have the odd comment to reply to. Having the posts available in a nice format with easy retrieval of archived posts is convenient and easy to use.

Tumblr is more ‘stream of thought’, thought it adapts easily to a written themes as much as visual. The ‘dashboard’, is the main landing page and you see what the people you follow have posted. While I like looking through people’s old posts and archives, I prefer accounts that have the majority of their own material rather than being composed of reblogged posts. Most of the interaction with a tumblr can be done via the dashboard so often you do not even get to see what their theme/design is. Too often they are unreadable when you do check them out. tumblr is useful for connecting to people with an interest in the theme of what you post or repost. Fortunately I find the sexual and BDSM and written side of tumblr to be inspiring enough to not delete my account, but there is a dark underbelly to Tumblr.

For the most part people follow one account or another with the hope that you follow back. The problem is that following more than a few dozen of any kind of account, be it tumblr, twitter, facebook or blogs, makes the experience of trying to read what any of them say like searching for a needle in a haystack. It just all turns into noise. Twitter is the daddy of them all, as some accounts have thousands upon thousands of followings. My account has 725 at last count and just the time it takes to blink can add 20 new tweets to my twitter stream.

There comes a moment when you wonder if it is all worth it?

Satisfy my urges

